More than 70 students at Western University of Health Sciences (WesternU)

will be honored at the institution’s 19th annual Honors Day event at 2:30

p.m. on Monday, April 12 in the Health Professions Center’s Amphitheater


Individual awards and certificates will be presented to WesternU students

enrolled in three colleges: the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the

Pacific (COMP); the College of Allied Health Professions; and the College

of Pharmacy.

“”Many colleges and universities present their students with awards at the

end of their education,”” said WesternU President Philip Pumerantz,

PhD. “”But it’s become a tradition here to recognize our students’ academic

excellence and outstanding achievements early in their education and

before they enter rotations and clinical training.””

Most of the Honors Day award recipients are first- and second-year

students who will begin their off-campus clinical rotations in the coming


Deans from each college will present awards for leadership, academic

achievement, extracurricular activities, humanitarian service,

volunteerism, yearbook production, class morale, school spirit and service

to the community and the University. Also recognized will be recipients of

the University’s Asian American Scholarships, nominees for the National

Dean’s List and Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and

Colleges. Teaching assistants in the Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine

Department and the Summer Anatomy Preparation Program also will be honored.

In addition to the presentations of awards, the University Choir, under

the direction of second-year COMP student Judy W. Tan, also will perform

at the Honors Day ceremony.

The awards consist of plaques and cash scholarships made possible through

donations from community and medical organizations, physicians,

individuals and pharmaceutical companies. Individuals sponsoring

particular awards or scholarship funds will present the awards to the

students at the ceremony. A reception in the Student Commons will

immediately follow the awards ceremony.

A committee comprised of University deans and faculty members, with input

from student organizations, selected the award recipients.