Third-year College of Pharmacy student Eva Levbarg is one of 11 students nationally to recently be recognized with the 2012-2013 ASHP Student Leadership Award from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP), for achievement in health-system pharmacy practice and campus leadership.

Levbarg was identified as someone who represents the very best attributes and accomplishments of ASHP student members. College of Pharmacy Associate Dean Sam Shimomura, PharmD, FASHP, CGP, and assistant professor of Pharmacy Practice and Administration Patrick Chan, PharmD, recommended her for the award.

Levbarg has extensive health-system work experience at UCI Medical Center in Orange, Calif., at its Chao Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, and more recently as a pharmacy intern at Garfield Medical Center in Monterey Park, Calif. She also completed a summer research fellowship at the VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System under the direction of WesternU Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Administration Cynthia Jackevicius, PharmD, who has published in the New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) and other major medical and pharmacy journals.

“”Eva is a tireless worker who manages to balance school, work, community service and leadership activities and her personal life in a remarkable manner with the help of her supportive husband,”” Shimomura said. “”She is extremely well organized, inspirational in a quiet, yet charismatic style and gets things done.””

Levbarg is WesternU’s American Society of Health-System Pharmacy (ASHP)/California Society of Health-System Pharmacy (CSHP) Student Chapter President, which recently received the “”Chapter of Distinction”” award from CSHP.

Levbarg said ASHP/CSHP club advisors Chan and Mark Nguyen, PharmD, assistant professor of Pharmacy Practice and Administration were instrumental in her attaining this honor.

The award, sponsored by ASHP and the ASHP Research and Education Foundation, is given to student members in their second through fourth professional years of pharmacy school. The award winners will receive a plaque, an ASHP drug information reference library, and a $2,500 cash award.


ASHP is a national professional organization whose 40,000 members include pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy students who provide patient care services in hospitals, health systems, and ambulatory clinics. For 70 years, the Society has been on the forefront of efforts to improve medication use and enhance patient safety. For more information about the wide array of ASHP activities and the many ways in which pharmacists help people make the best use of medicines, visit ASHP’s website,, or its consumer website,