Click photo to view slideshow

The conclusion of the eighth Western University of Health Sciences’ annual Towne & Gown Golf Classic increased the Classic’s endowment total for student scholarships to about $185,000.

The money raised will add additional scholarships to be awarded next year to deserving students. To date, 16 scholarships have been awarded since the inception of the endowment.

Tournament sponsor T.F. Chen, DDS, underwrote all green fees, carts, lunch and dinner for dozens of enthusiastic golfers who participated in the scramble-format tournament on June 11, 2018 at the Glendora Country Club.

It was Dr. Chen’s final year as tournament sponsor. During a dinner reception following the tournament, WesternU Vice President for University Advancement Diane Abraham, PhD, MBA, brought Chen to the front of the room, wrapped an arm around him and thanked him for his generosity and his eight wonderful years of underwriting the tournament.

WesternU Board of Trustees Secretary John Forbing won the helicopter golf ball drop prize. More than 100 numbered golf balls were dropped from a hovering helicopter, and Forbing’s ball landed closest to the hole. He donated his winnings back to the scholarship fund.

Joining Dr. Chen as Towne & Gown sponsors:

  • Tournament Golf Hat Sponsor: Mutual of America
  • Platinum Sponsor: McKesson
  • Gold Sponsor: Samaritan Health Services
  • Silver Sponsor: Inter Valley Health Plan
  • Silver Sponsor: John Forbing
  • Silver Sponsor: City National Bank
  • Hole in One Sponsor: Symes Cadillac of Pasadena
  • Beverage Sponsor: DoubleTree, Claremont
  • Beer Sponsor: MillerCoors, Irwindale
  • Longest Drive Sponsor: LCS Construction, Inc
  • Registration Table Sponsor: LCS Construction, Inc
  • Tee Sign Sponsors: Cucamonga Valley Medical Group, Bishop Financial Group and Minson Corporation

Following the dinner reception, the three teams with the lowest gross scores were awarded trophies:

First Place: John Forbing, Brett Mieding, Jack Grothe and Ray Andersen

Second Place: Jeff Keating, Bill Burrows, Sunil Prabhu and Steven Grant

Third Place: Al Desrosiers, Cory Miller, Tom McDonald and Herb Higueros

Three teams were awarded trophies for having the highest gross score, or reverse Stableford:

Third Place: Dean Phillip Nelson, Vincent Nelson, Brian Oakley and Tim McPheron

Second Place: Ola Carr, Ron Bolding, Dean Daniel Robinson and Rudolph Mireles

First Place: Dean Steven Friedrichsen, Ric Serafin, Jorge Mata and Ismael Arias

Dr. Abraham and Vice President for External and Clinical Affairs David Baron, DO, MSEd, were acknowledged for the longest drive – Abraham drove the beverage cart around the course with WesternU Provost and COO Gary Gugelchuk, PhD, and Dr. Baron drove a second beverage cart with Marketing Specialist Edith Miranda. The four carried on a tradition established at the inaugural Towne & Gown Classic in 2011 by WesternU Founding President Philip Pumerantz, PhD, and former Board of Trustees member John T. McGwire, DDS.