Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Dean Koelbl Named Chair of CODA

by Rodney Tanaka

August 4, 2008

Read 1 mins

The American Dental Association Commission on Dental Accreditation elected James J. Koelbl, DDS, MS, MJ, as its Chair. Dr. Koelbl, currently serving as Vice-Chair of the Commission, is the Founding Dean of the College of Dental Medicine at Western University of Health Sciences in Pomona, Calif. His term as Chair will commence at the end of the fall 2008 American Dental Association (ADA) Annual Session and will continue through the end of the fall 2009 ADA Annual Session.

The Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) serves as the only nationally-recognized accrediting body for dentistry and the related dental fields. The Commission receives its accreditation authority from the acceptance of the dental community and by being recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDOE), a governmental agency.

The mission of the Commission is to serve the public by establishing, maintaining and applying standards that ensure the quality and continuous improvement of dental and dental-related education and reflect the evolving practice of dentistry.

The Commission is concerned with the educational quality of dental, allied dental and advanced and specialty dental education programs in the United States. The Commission accredits more than 1,300 programs in the disciplines within its purview, conducting all aspects of the accreditation process. Through its accreditation activities, the Commission attempts to foster educational excellence, supports programmatic self-improvement and assures the general public of the ongoing availability of quality dental care. These goals are an integral part of a process of evaluation which combines on-site visits with regular review of written and quantitative data.


For more information about the College of Dental Medicine, click here.


Recommended Stories