Several pharmacists were honored for the meaningful and important contributions they make to the profession of pharmacy at Outlook 2009, the Annual Meeting and Education Faire for the California Pharmacists Association (CPhA) and the Pharmacy Foundation of California, which was recently held in Anaheim, February 19-22. This year’s honorees exemplify the best pharmacists in the State of California. They join an elite group of past winners who have gone above and beyond to serve their patients and profession with excellence.

Among the honorees were:

Eric Gupta, PharmD, , Distinguished New Practitioner of the Year

Assistant Professor, Western University of Health Sciences College of Pharmacy

This award recognizes a new practitioner who has demonstrated energetic leadership at multiple levels, someone who is an energetic leader, who stimulates others to actively participate in the profession, and finally, someone who is well recognized by their peers. In his letter of support, Mike Pastrick stated, “I am hard pressed to think of someone more deserving than Eric Gupta.” Eric has demonstrated a high level of professional involvement since the day he entered pharmacy school, contributing to the good and welfare of the profession. He continues his involvement today as an educator at Western University of Health Sciences and as a leader on CPhA’s Board of Trustees as the Speaker of the House. Eric actively participates in a number of professional organizations such as CPhA, APhA, American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP), American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), and American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP). In addition to state and national organizations, Eric is President of the Southeast Los Angeles Pharmacists Association, CE Coordinator for Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity, served as the 2008 Chair for the Pharmacy Foundation’s Educational Advisory Committee, and more. Most recently, the members of CPhA elected Eric to serve as President-Elect. 

Vi Li, CPhA Pharmacy Student of the Year

Western University of Health Sciences College of Pharmacy

Vi Le has shown dedication to the profession of pharmacy through her continuous involvement with local, state, national and student organizations. Vi became involved during her first year at Western University and immediately started making an impact. She increased the number of and participation in health fairs, and implemented new programs that increased the visibility and stature of the Academy of Student Pharmacists Chapter on campus. All of Vi’s activities and ideas saw a dramatic increase in student members, earning the WesternU Chapter a national award at the APhA national meeting. In addition to programs on campus, Vi reached out to the CPhA local associations in the area and created a strong relationship between them and the school. Her desire to create a foundation for greatness, dedication to the profession of pharmacy and genuine personality are testimony to the title Student Pharmacist of the Year.

Read the full story >>