College of Pharmacy Professor and Chair of Pharmacy Practice and Administration Anandi V. Law, BPharm, PhD, was recently selected as a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA).

“Receiving this award is a great honor as much as it is humbling. I value what it stands for, and I have such admiration and respect for those who have received it before me,” Law said. “The wonderful thing about this award is that I have been recognized for doing what I personally consider to be so rewarding: education, scholarship, and work within professional associations.”

Fellows are either members of the APhA Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management (APhA-APPM) or the APhA Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science (APhA-APRS) with a minimum of 10 years’ professional experience. Dr. Law was selected by the APhA-APRS.

“I would encourage students and colleagues to continue striving for personal and professional excellence, and to get involved in local, state and national organizations, because we can take what we do locally and make a larger impact," Law said. "When we do our best, the process and the outcomes provide benefit to all, and individually and collectively, we can reach goals of raising the bar on health care.”

To become a Fellow, members must have demonstrated exemplary professional achievements and service to the profession through activities with APhA and other national, state or local professional organizations, according to the APhA website. The new Fellows were officially recognized at the APhA Annual Meeting and Exposition in Los Angeles, held March 1-4, 2013. The APhA awards and honors program is the most comprehensive recognition program in the profession of pharmacy.

“Achieving Fellow status in the American Pharmacists Association is a great honor that demonstrates recognition for exemplary professional achievement and service by one’s peers,” said College of Pharmacy Dean Daniel Robinson, PharmD, FASHP. “Dr. Law, as Chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Administration, has been a natural leader within the College of Pharmacy, and a mentor to many faculty and graduate students. Her leadership on a national level will now and forever be recognized in the FAPhA designation appended to her name.”